Call for papers, XV Gijón Conference on sports economics

Call for papers, XV Gijón Conference on sports economics, ‘Roger Noll and Peter Sloane Golden Anniversary’

DECEMBER 17TH– 18TH 2021  

The annual conference of the Sports Economics Observatory Foundation (FOED, University of Oviedo) will be held in Gijon (Spain) at the Paraninfo of Laboral, Faculty of Commerce, Tourism and Social Sciences Jovellanos, 2021, December 17-18 (Friday and Saturday).

This year the topic of the Conference is a tribute to two of the pioneers in the field of economics of the sport, with two facts that they did 50 years ago. Roger Noll organized in Washington, under the auspices of the Brooking Institution, the first Conference on Sports Economics in 1971 and Peter Sloane, that year, published one of the most relevant articles in the field of sports economics: ‘The Economics of Professional Football: The Football Club as a Utility Maximiser’.

Individuals are invited to submit unpublished communications related to the topic of the Conference.

All submissions will be assessed by a scientific committee.

Accommodation and meals during the conference are the responsibility of the organization.

If we cannot organize the Conference in person, we will do it through Teams on Thursday and Friday evening, December 16 and 17.



Authors please send an abstract of about 200 words to

Abstract submission deadline: November 20.

Papers selected: November 30.


All accepted papers will be invited to be published in a book edited by the organizers. Inclusion in the book is optional.


Scientific Committee


Humphreys, Brad. Professor of Economics at West Virginia University, United States.


Coates, Dennis. Professor of Economics at University of Maryland, Baltimore County. United States.

Garcia, Jaume. Professor of Economics at Universitat Pompeu Fabra. Spain

Prieto, Juan. Professor of Economics at University of Oviedo. Spain

Rodriguez, Placido. Professor EU of Economics at University of Oviedo. Spain


Organizing Committee

Plácido Rodríguez

Brad Humphreys

Cristina Muñiz

Dennis Coates

Juan Prieto

Levi Pérez

Mar Arenas

Deja una respuesta

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *

A %d blogueros les gusta esto: